NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to fishing all together and very new to inshore fishing. Almost everything I know , I have learned here on NCAngler, website research, or YouTube.

I decided to fish around Morehead this weekend with a buddy to chase drum. I was advised from a fellow NCAngler member to fish around the marsh, throw top water and a Johnson Silver Minnow spoon. I paddled around throwing in the marsh for a while and then the wind started picking up. It was then I realized my homemade anchor was absolutely useless. I then decided to paddle behind a bank to get out of the wind. As soon and I turned the bank, I saw bait flipping and darting in every direction. I quickly got into casting distance and squeezed in close to the marsh to stay out of the wind. I casted a spook Jr and on my first cast, immediately when the lure hit the water SMASH! My first redfish top water hit (what an explosion)! As soon as my line got tight from my cast my reel started screaming. He probably pulled out a solid 50 feet of line treating my Penn Fierce 2000 like it was a ball of yarn. It was at this point, I felt a little undergunned with this reel. After a lengthy fight and a couple runs, I got him in visibility where he then saw my kayak and ran out another 50 feet of drag. With my anchor issues I was having earlier, this drum towed me in several different circles like it was nothing. After another ridiculous fight, I finally got him in the net. After measuring at 29", I then had to try to figure out how to take a picture with my shaky, andrenalin ridden hands (sorry for the quality.)

This drum is the first overslot I have ever caught and he hit topwater which is an experience in itself. Feeling the power behind this beautiful fish was an experience of a lifetime. If I wasn't hooked on inshore fishing before (which I was) I am now.