NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, first off I am a very novice fisherman and have little to zero experience with "big" lakes. My bass fishing has almost exclusively been on one stocked farm pond but I'm definitely looking to expand. That said, I had an opportunity to get on Belews yesterday morning with a buddy of mine. He's got a fish/ski set up and was looking for an excuse to get the boat out. Who am I to say no?

Anyway, it sure seemed to me that on a bigger lake like this that my patience was being tested! My friend has plenty of experience but it seemed to me that we'd never really give one spot much of a chance before motoring off. 10 or 15 casts, maybe, and he was saying hold on, lets go over here.... When I'm on my "home" pond, I can work a little spot for 30 minutes or more sometimes, trying different lures or techniques. Is big lake fishing more about covering water than a methodical approach to each hole? Like I said, my friend was maybe more interested in some fellowship and a nice boat ride (which is all good of course) but come ON man!

I guess this is why a man needs his own boat :D

·
Premium Member
3,233 Posts
It depends on what is happening at each move. I often cover lots of water when I am fishing, giving each area a few minutes before moving to the next. There are two scenarios that set this up for me...

First, if I am looking for active bass or perefishing for a tournament and I haven't been out for a few days, I am going to target different types of areas. Windy points...sheltered points...laydowns...rip rap...docks...coves...etc. I am going to target areas that are different from the last area I tried so I can try to establish a pattern. This leads to the second scenario...