NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm starting to get anxious about the fall Striper fishing at Jordan. Being a total novice at chasing Ol' Line sides I'm in need of alot of rigging info. I'm planing to run two rods with umbrella rigs off of the rear of the boat. Also, I'm considering running planer boards from the side rod holders with crankbaits. Anyone have any advice on how to use the planers? Thoughts on Umbrella rigs for Jordan? Preferred Crankbaits? How to control line and lure depth? Live Bait?

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
I like ballooning live bait but I'm looking forward to giving the trolling thing a try too!!!!
Maybe Sniper can share some secrets...LOL

·
Registered
275 Posts
If you're just starting out, the easiest thing you can do is forget about those umbrella rigs and planer boards with crankbaits and get set up with some leadcore line for trolling bucktails. A lot less hassle and you'll probably catch more fish. But I'm no expert here.....I'm a live bait guy.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
I'm gonna try "Strolling" live baits this year too...

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts
If you're just starting out, the easiest thing you can do is forget about those umbrella rigs and planer boards with crankbaits and get set up with some leadcore line for trolling bucktails. A lot less hassle and you'll probably catch more fish. But I'm no expert here.....I'm a live bait guy.
I've never seen leadcore line - what is it and how much effect does it have? Can you tie knots with it or is it like wire?

Do you run the whole spool with leadcore or just a leader? Do you need a special reel or rod guides for it?

Do you use leadcore with or without a down-rigger?

What's the difference between a 1oz bucktail on leadcore and a 2oz bucktail on mono/braid?

Curious minds want to know...

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
yeah! what Jeff said! :D

·
Registered
249 Posts