NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to trout fishing. Is it the nature of trout fishing to have trout pull off or to loose a good many? I am using a med light rod, 10lb braid with 10lb floro carbon leader with very light drag. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get more fish to the boat?

·
Banned
2,062 Posts
Probably spikes (small specks) but that's just from my own experience. The spikes don't feel like big fish so if you are feeling weight like a fish that is big enough to eat then you are pulling the hook. These fish are said to have very fragile jaws/lips but the larger ones I've caught, which don't amount to many this year, were hooked inside the mouth. I guess it would also depend on the Lure you are using. How big are the ones you are boating?

·
Banned
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Probably spikes (small specks) but that's just from my own experience. The spikes don't feel like big fish so if you are feeling weight like a fish that is big enough to eat then you are pulling the hook. These fish are said to have very fragile jaws/lips but the larger ones I've caught, which don't amount to many this year, were hooked inside the mouth. I guess it would also depend on the Lure you are using. How big are the ones you are boating?
The fish I am catching are not spikes. These are keeper plus sized fish

·
Registered
117 Posts
I would also consider switching lure color. There have been a few times that Ill get a few short strikes on one color switch it up then get solid thumps with hook ups deep in the mouth once I switched...

·
Registered
245 Posts