NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some reels with bait clickers that don't cost a fortune as I don't use them all that often. Spinning or baitcast is fine. I know Bass Pro has the MegaCast Metal Round Reel for $40 anyone try those?

·
Premium Member
3,233 Posts
I have not used them personally, I've seen a lot of people buy them...they seem to have a good following.

Some of theses guys fish the carp tournaments and catfish tourneys in the area and say for the money, they work for them. they also have a standard 1 year warranty that is pretty much a no questions asked.

The Abus are going to be longer lasting reels, I think, just because of the gearing inside, but they are more pricey.

I guess it depends on how much you might use it.

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
I have a shimano corvalus and a shimano corsair bait caster. both i've been using for about 10 years in fresh and salt. I've caught everything from tarpoon, stripers, catfish, and reds on these reels paired with a 6'6' MH rod... they are about $80 a piece but well worth the extra dough to last 10+ years of heavy use.

They hold tons of line also... only some models have the bait clickers though so make sure you check out the right sizes.

·
Registered
2,855 Posts
I personally do not buy or recommend buying store brand reels. Normally the reel looks like a name brand reel but it stops there. The look is to rope you in while dangling a cheaper price in front of you.
One of the first things to look at when reel shopping is parts availability.
A name like ABU...you can buy parts all over the world both OEM and aftermarket.

A lot of the cheaper reels today are disposable reels. Obtaining parts can be difficult and they just aren't practicable to fix.

·
Registered
1,646 Posts