NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,
I am so impressed with all the help you fellows give out to each other. I am new to kayak fishing and I am trying to ready my pungo for river fishing. I have many questions, so please bear with my ignorance. Do you fellows use a bilge pump (hand held) in a SIK? I have a skirt with this boat and I may need it on my regular route due to two class II rapids, but a skirt will hinder any outer clips (Yak Clips) to hold rods and such. Since there is not much room for my regular tackle box, I was thinking of using velcro to attach several small boxs to the inside of boat. This boat came with two rod holders, but they can't be used while traveling down river due to low hanging limbs. Do ya'll ever have rod holders on side of boat for travel? (tucked in) My rods are short 4 1/2 to 5 ft ultra light rods. Also, do you carry a small cooler between your legs for drinks? I am used to using a large canoe for river fishing, but I see I need to pair down my gear. If there are any pungo owners out there that may know some tips about rigging one for fishing, I would love to hear from you.
Thanks ahead,
Emmett

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Wowee, now that is a nice setup. Exactly what I need to keep rods down. Now you may have to explain how that is made. Also, the pads on the paddle? I see you are able to carry quite a bit of stuff as well.My time on computer on weekends is sporatic,, so i will be back. I take it the green thing is a stakeout pole? Thanks for sharing
Emmett

·
Registered
4,810 Posts
Oh good, I'd been hoping Forrest would answer this one. I was about to expound with my limitless wisdom :p but then realized that Forrest was DA MAN for this one! (wisdom of the day -- "Know when to hold 'em...")

Moseyak's probably got some wisdom to share too, if we can coax him off the sideline... ;)

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·