NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year where I've really focused on river fishing (in the Piedmont). Would be interested to hear any pearls of wisdom from you guys that have been doing it a while as far as how you change up your strategy as the weather cools. Does late afternoon-to-dusk replace dawn as the best time to fish? Do topwaters become less effective? Which species remain active, that kind of stuff would be much appreciated.

·
Premium Member
7,806 Posts
Fish still feed.....just slower with colder conditions. Lots of folks downsize baits/lures. I think warmth plays a role. Areas where heat is held longer. Shallower areas close to the depths. Rocks hold heat. Slower presentations. Real slow if it's really cold.

Most of all be safe. Wear warm things. Waterproof. Have a plan if something goes wrong. I've got my own plans for some insane winter fishing in rivers as well....

Sent from my kayak...

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Go when the ambient temps are warm and pleasant. Leave the top water lures at home. Below ~50 F water temp, I tend to dangle hair jigs for crappie while casting lipless cranks, dead sticking hard suspending jerk baits, or slowly rolling a spinnerbait. Alternative is to troll those cranks. Trolling allows wearing gloves and keeps your hands warmer too.

I've caught nice riverbass in upper 30 deg water with a normal retrieve with a Cordell spot. Sunny bank around noon.

Fish are still there and the bigger ones have to keep eating.

BTW, winter is the best time to catch a really nice chain pickerel in our Piedmont flows. Same lures as mentioned above will catch those too.

The triangle area flows can be very good in the winter under the right conditions. Go when it's low.

Another comment on cold weather/water safety, read up and be prepared. It can kill.

-Jeff

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·