NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wandered about the beach last weekend around the Ft. Macon public access area and could not find a single sand flea. Some of the regulars down there said they were plentiful in the Spring. I am clueless towards the life cycle of a sand flea. Are they seasonal? Anyone know of an area in AB where they might be found... other than the B&T shop?

·
Registered
616 Posts
According to my Dad who lives in PKS, there was a lot of beach renourishment that went on down there since the hurricanes last year. I think that may have something to do with it. Someone who is more knowledged than I may be able to elaborate.

·
Registered
14,639 Posts
I'm no expert but a marine biologist friend of mine said she thinks it has more to do with the hurricane or storm surge itself than the beach renourishment that follows. She did allow for the fact that both may divert normal marine critters like mole crabs from the area. Her point being that storm surge alone will can cause mole crabs and certain other crustaceans to disappear for a while till the environmental factors they prefer return.

·
Registered
2,349 Posts
What happens a lot of times during storms and beach renourishment (according to what I have read written by biologists) is that they get buried too deep and many of them die. If beach renourishment is done slowly a thin layer at a time it doesn't have as great of an effect overall. It seems odd to me that they couldn't just dig their way out but normally a biologist will not make a statement about something of that nature unless it has been studied and documented. I'll see if I can find some of thelinks to the more relevant NC studies.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I did a brief search on mole crabs and came up with a lot of scientific information but didn't really see any "cause and effect" for attrition or any other local data.