NC Angler Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,428 Posts
It was very good this weekend, a buddy and I landed 31 over 16". Quite a few shorts mixed in. Mostly on red eye shads. Conditions were good for fishing with the overcast skies, cool weather and occasional rain shower. Saw some schooling action also. We both lost some real pigs too, the biggest kept shaking the red eyes.

·
Registered
5,580 Posts
I dislike harris a bunch. Two guys I know won the Wednesday night tournament last week with a 31 lb limit. They say the culled another 28 lb limit too. Pretty rediculous for a 4 hour tournament.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm pretty new to the fishing scene on lakes. I've done well on Wheeler and some of the local ponds around Raleigh. I bought a 99 Stratos a few months back and have been on the water over a dozen times. Primarily fishing Wheeler (it's next to my house). I've been to Harris a few times (probably 3-4) and I just can't seem to locate the fish. I've gotten up at 5am and threw frogs/buzz on the lily pads under the bridge. I've used Football jigs / Spoons on the railroad tracks. Used lipless cranks 5-6 ft of water around some of the bluffs and threw some shaky heads.

I hear Harris is one of the best fisheries on the East Coast for bass and I have maybe caught 3 fish in about 24 hours on the lake.

Constantly casting and reeling (like tournamnent fishing) with no success.

Any basic spots outside of the railroad/lily pads I should be trying.. Any techniques for the summer?

·
Registered
748 Posts
Those same fellas weighed 29# the next wed tourney...they know something I don't lol. Last trip I caught all mine on top in schools. Best day ever. But I didn't catch 31, and can't get bit on a red eye for some reason. I was throwing the sexy shad ones.

·
Registered
3,624 Posts