NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

Premium Member
8,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The South Atlantic Fishery Management Council will hold a meeting of its Controlled Access Committee January 23-24, 2007 in Charleston, South Carolina. The Committee will meet to discuss a possible Limited Access Privilege Program for the snapper grouper fishery in the South Atlantic region. A public comment period will be held as part of the meeting agenda.

The meeting will be held at the Embassy Suites Hotel Airport/Convention, 5055 International Blvd., North Charleston, SC, phone 800/747-1882 or 843/362-2779. Additional information regarding the upcoming meeting and Limited Access Privilege Programs (LAPs) can be found on the Council’s web site at

For questions, please contact Kate Quigley, SAFMC Staff Economist at 843/571-4366, toll free 866/SAFMC-10 or via email at [email protected].


Embassy Suites Hotel Airport/Convention
5055 International Boulevard
North Charleston, SC

Tuesday, January 23, 2007 - 1:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

Wednesday, January 24, 2007 – 8:30 A.M. to 3:00 P.M.
1. Approval of Agenda — Rita Merritt

2. Approval of December 2006 Meeting Minutes – Rita Merritt

3. Public Comment

4. Presentations (Attachments 1-5)
A. Summary of the Magnuson Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act and Limited Access Privileges (LAPs) - Kate Quigley
B. Limited Access Privilege (LAP) background information update - Kate Quigley
C. “DAP 101: Background Information on U.S. DAP Experience” – Dietmar Grimm, Redstone Consulting Strategies
D. Overview of the British Columbia Groundfish IVQ Program – Kate Quigley
E. Overview of the Gulf of Mexico Grouper Fishery IFQ Development – Joe Kimmel, NMFS
F. Overview of the SAFMC Fishery Ecosystem Plan – Duane Harris

5. Development of Limited Access Privilege Program Goals and Objectives
A. Overview of other LAP program goals and objectives - Kate Quigley
B. Development of LAP program goals and objectives for the Snapper Grouper fishery – Rita Merritt

6. Snapper Grouper Limited Access Privilege Workgroup
A. Structure of the Limited Access Privilege Workgroup – Kate Quigley
B. Discussion and recommendation of Snapper Grouper LAP Workgroup members – Rita Merritt

7. Limited Access Privilege Program Action Plan (Attachment 6)
A. Action Plan Overview - Kate Quigley
B. Action Plan Discussion and Committee Recommendations – Rita Merritt

8. Other Business – Rita Merritt

9. Adjourn – Rita Merritt

Committee Members:
Rita Merritt, Chair
Tony Iarocci, Vice Chair
Robert Boyles
Roy Crabtree (Joe Kimmel designee)
Mac Currin
Louis Daniel (Scott Crosson designee)
George Geiger
Susan Shipman
John Wallace
David Cupka
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.