NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to fly fishing. I guess I've been doing it a couple of years now so any advice will be much appreciated. I've never fished Stone Mountain State Park, but I went up there last week after fishing the Mitchell to scout for fish and I saw absolutely 0! I also spoke with a guy who was fishing and he said that he fished all day long and with multiple fly types and up all of the feeder creeks and caught 0. He had no missed fish and he didn't see any either. I'm interested in heading up there this Friday if for no other reason than to be in the water and enjoy the scenery. I will be fishing Tenkara.

Again any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tony

·
Registered
6,041 Posts
They're done stocking for the year.... My guess... Most fish have been poached by this time.

Reactions: wademaster

·
Registered
109 Posts
There were plenty there on 12/3. They have been educated by fishermen for 2 or 3 months and are pretty spooky.

IMO they are tougher to catch now than wild fish. Most of them have had their lips pierced at least once, and no longer think a shadow on the water means fish chow is going to rain down.

Go small, go deep, and fish slow.

·
Registered
2 Posts
A buddy and I are heading up to Stone this weekend to check out our hammock gear for cold weather. Was planning to scout some of the streams and may bring my Tenkara rod also. It's technically a Christmas gift, but I may sneak it out.

I've heard the fishing has been okay at Stone, so hopefully you have better luck this weekend.

·
Registered
1,549 Posts
I certainly agree with wademaster and m75rlg. There is some poaching but not as much as we often like to think. Stone is one of the streams where fish seem to move a lot.... They can be there one week and gone the next. There have been numerous times when I thought there were no fish in a pool...only to spook a dozen or more.

·
Registered
966 Posts