NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hopkins, gotcha, mirrolure, bucktail etc.......I have all those and when they don't work, they dont work. But you can just tell, I am a novice plain and simple. I will start another thread asking how to fish these in the surf in a moment.

In October, we will be on the outer banks, and of course we will have cut bait out there.

Is there any point to trying some BASS crank baits or TOPWATER when the blues, possibly stripers or reds are out there? We will also have light tackle too and will be wading out in the surf.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Surf: The Saltwater Lures

In late October, we will be fishing some medium tackle out there as well......

Any choices on what to fish, and what NOT to fish, in the surf?

Gotcha,
Hopkins,
bucktail,
etc

also, some tips on how to use each in the surf would be really, really cool too.

Thanks~!

·
Red X Angler
2,479 Posts
I only use one..... Gold 1oz Kastmaster, cast out reel in the simplest and most effective lure for me, blues, Spanish if they are still around, flounder drum and trout. Now others are gonna say that time of the year, Mirrolures and that's another ballgame. And then cut bait on my surf rod.

·
Red X Angler
2,479 Posts
never drag, medium speed through the water till you get close to shore then slow down for flounder and drum...

·
Registered
585 Posts