NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hows the fishing at Swansboro right now? I am new to fishing in NC. Not really sure what fish are where you know? Any advice on fish, and what they are biting on, and rigs being used is awesome advice for me. Thanks.

·
Registered
791 Posts
I've been looking around for a decent report on the inside in Broad, gales or Trout creek. I went about two weeks ago and got stumped. Want to take my boys out Friday but dont' know where to take them yet..

rye

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Rye, Let me know if you hear anything, my buddies and I want to go fishing soon but schedules aren't really working out right now. Swansboro is so close to Jacksonville it is a perfect place as long as the fish are biting!!

·
Registered
791 Posts
YO have a lot of choices right there on base! YOu have the 8th marines Docks, good for shrimp and reds and rays. The turning bridge down at the beach always has soemthing in the channel. the peir and miles of great surf fishing. There is also the New river area right there in town. YOu have tons of oppurtunities available to you for fishing!

rye

·
Registered
574 Posts
Alien,

First of all welcome aboard, glad to have you. I asked Seabiscuit, our resident White Oak Expert and my father-in-law, to chime in on the WO. I'm sure he will at some point. But, from another post you made, it sounded as if you're shore-bound in your fishing adventures. Not a problem. I can give a cool hotspot, pun intended. Coming from J-ville & going thru S-boro. Before you go over the twin bridges and the causeway, there is a restaurant on the right called the IceHouse. It's right on the waterfront where the White Oak dumps into the ICW. There is a bulkhead between the IceHouse and the bridge that you can fish from. It's also a good spot to throw the cast net for finger mullet.