NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the forum and hope I am posting this in the right spot.

I have some experience in fishing and some experience in yaking and have decide to give kayak fishing a try. I recently bought a kayak which has a rod holder, but my concern is where do you guys store your tackle while your on the boat. The yak I have is a sit in so that limits the space a little more.

Any help would be great.

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,810 Posts
Howdy Goat, welcome to NCAngler, welcome to yak-fishing, and welcome to Triangle-area yak-fishing!

How much tackle do you usually carry? If you're used to filling every compartment on a bass boat, or using a suitcase-sized box with a dozen pop-out trays, you'll probably wind up downsizing for your yak outings. The flat plano-style boxes work well -- probably the medium size a bit more than the large, but you'll certainly see some of both. If you can find room, maybe under your knees, for a box or two, and come up with a way to bungee them down so they don't slide all over, that ought to do ya for most outings. You may need to load them up for each outing, or pick your freshwater box instead of your saltwater box, or your panfish box versus catfish box, or whatever...

Another approach some take is to mount a milk crate to the deck behind the cockpit. Add short legs of PVC to the bottom of the milk crate, and it will sit securely on the yak's curved deck. Now bungee it down and you can put plano boxes, bait buckets, and a bunch of other stuff in the crate.

If you get really good at minimizing, you can put a pocket-sized tackle box in the pocket of your PFD and be done with it. I'm not very close to that point yet.

Hope this gives you a few ideas
Lefty

·
Registered
1,183 Posts