NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So with the warming weather and my baby son starting to settle in to a routine I've found time to fish more lately. Also I'm a teacher so I'm about to have 2 months with nothing to do! Therefore I've decided to look into getting my first kayak.

I have kayaked in the past and am comfortable on the water, the caveat is that I am large (6'6" and about 230) and don't want to spend a lot of money.

I would love to try out a yak to see if I like fishing from one and/or to see which type I would prefer. One I've found online and heard nothing but good things about (especially for larger guys) is the Old Town Vapor 10. Its cheap (usually about $500) and everyone seems to rave about them.

I will use the yak for mostly freshwater, small ponds and lakes mostly. Perhaps the occasional river but likely never the ocean.

Lastly, is there anyone in Charlotte or nearby that wouldn't mind me trying out their boat or know of any outfitters that rent angling kayaks?

·
Registered
2,855 Posts
Let these guys know what your budget is for a yak. You may get more input.

On the weight side of things. Often times a heavier person will stabilize a yak that is uncomfortable to a lighter person.
I build a hybrid canoe/ yak that is that way. It needs atleast 150 pounds in it to even begin to feel comfortable.
It's not a tippy boat but feels that way. The slanted chines will go along way in keeping it upright.

·
Registered
296 Posts
Go talk to Adam at Hunt, Fish, Paddle. His shop is on Lake Wylie and he has some good boats in stock. He might even let you try one out. I think Get Outdoors is also having their demo day either this weekend or coming up very soon.

·
Registered
3,624 Posts