NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
3,489 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well fellas, came back to Charlotte to see mom for mothers day. Great day, got her a new tv and scallops for dinner. Decided I would run down to the pond in the adjacent neighborhood that I've been fishing since I was 8 years old and have never had a single person tell me to leave or that there was an issue. In fact everybody has always been happy, asked how the fishing was, and I've even let several of the neighborhood kids reel in my catches before. There's always been less trash there than when I arrived and the people that live there litter it horribly.

There was a cop car on the side of the road when I got there but I didn't think anything of it. Missed a good swipe on the pop-R first cast and caught a handful of small crappie on the ultra light. Noticed the cop started to move but didn't think anything of it. Worked down the bank and spooked a monster bass. Just a nice 20-30 minutes on the water to end a great day. I see the cop pull back to where he was and motion for me to come over. He was polite and first thing he says is "Are you XXXX and do you still live at XXXX?" Ah crap. Guess he went and ran my plates while I was fishing - NOTE - there are no "no trespassing", "no fishing", or "residents only" signs anywhere at this place. The only signs say "catch and release only".

I guess my question becomes when did we get to the point where somebody fishing in a neighborhood became such an issue. The speed with which people will call to get you sent on your way rivals or betters that as if you were dealing drugs!! I have a lot of great memories from this place that nobody can ever take away from me, I just hate that this is the way that things have turned.

Thanks for listening to me whine!! Back to SC tomorrow might go smack a few more spotted bass on hartwell...

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts