NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Iv'e been looking for the past few weeks on how to join either a tournament or a club. Nothing I read makes much sense because I am new to the whole club and tournament scence but not fishing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I live right outside of wake forest and I know that there are many spots to fish around here. Also I dont have a boat yet so would have to be a co angler. Thanks for the time! Dan

·
Premium Member
3,233 Posts
There are a few options for you...first, you can find a club and fish as a co-angler if they allow for that. Fortunately, many do and there are a few guys on here that are members of clubs in your area.

Second, you can join either BASS or FLW and enter their tournaments as a co-angler. The FLW tourneys are readily available in this area and you can learn a lot. They are a little more costly than the clubs, but with some luck, the payouts are better.

Third, you can get with a boater and enter open tournaments as a team. There are tons of these in the areas and one of the best ways to find them are to check out the local bait and tackle shops, or anyplace that sells tackle, for the flyers and advertisements.

Tournament fishing is a blast, but go in with the idea that you will be learning more than winning...with the money spent being your tuition fee, of sorts. I've been doing it for about 30 years and wouldn't trade it, but I don't win all the time. I do have fun and learn each time I go out, though, and that is the catch for me!

·
Registered
748 Posts
Highly suggest you continue to check this board. Also join BBC boys which contains a wealth of info tuned specifically to tourney bassers also. Good luck, and maybe we will compete someday.

·
Red X Angler
3,758 Posts