NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. As Gary Dubiel in Oriental will tell you, I am a total novice to fly fishing. I purchased one of Gary's flyrods (Temple Fork 9ft. #12....nope it is a 8 weight) and I bought an Okuma Integrity I 8/9 flyreel. I'd like to spend some time on the water in Oriental practicing with the idea of doing some saltwater fly fishing. I've got some great looking flies (thanks Forrest!). Here are my questions:

• What do I need to purchase as far as Fly line or tippet, etc. for this outfit?
  • What species could I target and when in the Pamlico/Neuse or near shore out of Beaufort?
  • Anything else you'd like to tell a total novice besides "Don't fish near me!" :D
Thanks for any direction guys!
Randy

·
Registered
2,349 Posts
Randy, I just can't resist. I have never used a Temple Fork Outfitters rod or an Okuma Integrity reel... but it sounds like you are putting a trout/puppy drum reel on a Tarpon rod. I would find that a great excuse to buy another rod in 8 or 9 wt and a Tarpon reel. I would go with the 8 wt in your locale and if you have a spare spool you might want to put a 9 wt line on it and then you would have a good excuse for yet another rod. Right Capt. Gary??!!??:D

·
Registered
3,173 Posts