NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Water temps should be coming up a lot this week. Spawn should be passing, so I am hoping to see a lot more crank bait, topwater, chatter bait and spinner/buzz bait action. The part of the state you are in plays a large role as temps rise from east to west usually. I am not confident with soft plastics, senko, drop shot etc, so it has been a tough learning curve for me so far as this is my first year really targeting Bass.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Trick worms in various colors, as well as various creature baits rigged on a shakey head. I like watermelon red brush hogs pitched way back in laydowns, as well as a watermelon trick worm on a shakey.

·
Registered
748 Posts
they were chewing this weekend. had a tourney at kerr that took almost 15# to get a check and over 24# to win. never have i seen such results on that body. 24,20,20,19,18..etc. it was pretty ridiculous. few guys got numbers, but most got quality.

·
Registered
2,683 Posts
Wacky Rig will gurentee a quick limit.
I haven't had any luck with a wacky rig. Any specific pointers? Weighted vs unweighted, colors and types of worms, cover preferences? I've thrown it a couple times, but have never had any takers so no confidence in this rig yet, but am willing to give it a few more chances.

·
Registered
301 Posts