NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Just joined.
Here's my story and what I need help with...

I currently live in AZ, but hope to relocate to NC soon for employment (I'm a Mechanical Engineer). I haven't found a job yet, but one of my pre-requisites is that wherever I move to should be not much more than an hour or so from some good trout streams. Spinner fishing small streams for browns and brookies is my first love.
I know that if I moved to Asheville, I would have plenty of choices nearby. But in my industry, Asheville is an unlikely city to find engineering work.
So that kind of leaves the central NC cities to choose from.

Can someone give me some idea how the Charlotte area compares to, say... Winston-Salem, Greensboro & Raleigh? One of those is my most likely destination, and if given some options, I'd like to take distance-to-trout-streams into consideration.

Thank you for your help!

·
Registered
295 Posts
Looks like you need to learn other types of fishing because none of the cities mentioned except Asheville are an hour away from good trout fishing.

·
Registered
3,031 Posts
sorry, Ashevegas is the closest:p;). w/s is an hourish, gsbo is 1 1/2 , raleigh is 3-31/2 The rule of thumb, the farther in WNC you go, the better the streams . Of course, there is always Virginia if you choose W/S or GSBO.

·
Registered
3,417 Posts
some of the best trout fishing for browns is within 1 hr of greensboro, nc ...smith river in virginia and there still are some big ones in there......pretty much urban fishing but still puts you within 2 hrs of some trout fishing in the mountains...

Reactions: tkbone

·
Registered
140 Posts