NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to Stone Mountain State Park this weekend to try the wild streams since DH is dead and I've heard good things about Garden Creek. I "hiked" (not much of a trail) maybe a mile to mile and half along the stream and only saw a few pools and caught several daces (or whatever those little non-trout minnows are) with a griffith's gnat.

I've heard people saying they have caught 10-15 fish on this stream and I don't see how there's even 10-15 trout in the whole river. Am I just a complete novice and should have been fishing those 3-6 inch deep riffles or does it get better if I keep hiking?:confused:

My only wild stream experience is the South Toe and did pretty well the 2 times I've fished it.

All things considered, it was still a beautiful day exploring and trying something new and wasn't mowing the lawn!

·
Registered
699 Posts
Here are my suggestions (not being a smart ellick, promise)

1. Wear dark natural toned clothing
  2. Walk like a heron
  3. Stay out of the creek
  4. Hike further
  5. Use smaller flies
  6. Use smaller tippet
  7. Walk quieter
  8. Make sure your drifts are absolutely drag free
  9. Stay out of the stream as much as possible
  10. Make your first cast perfect
  11. Use rocks and trees as cover
  12. Walk quieter
  13. Use a longer leader
  14. Stay out of the creek
  15. Walk quieter

That should help :)

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Don't neglect those riffles and tail sections of larger holes. Even the transitional waters in between holes. These are productive, especially in summer.( For me anyway) Make clean casts. Natives can be caught in the smallest of holes(washes behind rocks). 5 gallon bucket size and smaller. Some tend to walk right by them.

Best advice? More exploring.

Even as you mentioned, it beats mowing the lawn any day.

·
Registered
1,411 Posts